Hamilton wins 2008 F1 championship

 

Hamilton wins 2008 F1 championship

Published on Monday, November 3, 2008

SAO PAULO, Brazil (AFP): Lewis Hamilton was crowned Formula One champion after finishing fifth in the Brazil Grand Prix here on Sunday.
The McLaren driver of Grenadian descent became the youngest ever champion in Formula One history and the first Briton to take the title since Damon Hill in 1996.
He pipped Felipe Massa to the title by one point after Massa won the season-ending race in front of his home fans at the Interlagos circuit.

British Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton celebrates winning the F1 World Championship, after finishing fifth in the Brazil Grand Prix. AFP PHOTO

Hamilton told ITV television after the race: "I’m speechless – that was so pretty close. You guys (his McLaren team) have done an amazing job all season. This is for you and my family. It’s pretty much impossible to put into words.
"It’s been such a long journey – all the sacrifices we’ve made, I’m so thrilled to do this for everyone. It was one of the toughest races of my life."
Asked how he felt as he crossed the line, Hamilton added: "I thought ‘Do I have it?’. They told me and I was ecstatic. I must thank God."
Father Anthony Hamilton senior had earlier said: "What can I say. I can’t say anymore. I really can’t find any words.
"It’s absolutely great and that’s a shame that the crowd are doing this (booing). They should be sportsmen. We have the championship and let’s look forward to the next one."

Caribbean Net News: Hamilton wins 2008 F1 championship

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

